My Oscars Thoughts (2015)

The beginning of each year means a season of film-related award ceremonies. This time is capped off with the ever-famous Academy Awards! This is my first ever time watching the Oscars live, and it was definitely an interesting one at that. I’ll only be covering some of the larger categories, so here we go:

Best Animated Short Film

Winner: Feast

Glad to hear Feast won. Even though I’m such a huge animation person, I actually haven’t seen Feast, but I’m sure it is great none the less. It also would have been great if The Dam Keeper won, made by ex-Pixar employe Dice Tsutsumi.

Best Animated Feature Film

Winner: Big Hero 6

This was a big surprise to me, after the Lego Movie (which should have won) was snubbed, I was extremely sure that How to Train Your Dragon 2 would win the Oscar. I’m glad for Disney. I also have not seen Big Hero 6, because I’m waiting for tomorrow’s DVD/Blu-ray release, but this just makes me more excited to see it!

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Patricia Arquette

Boyhood was one of my favorite films of this past year and I’m glad it’s getting some recognition. Patricia Arquette’s performance was great in the film, as well!

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

This was a totally obvious choice, but a great one at that! Simmons was great in Whiplash (which I loved) and I’m not even sure what else to say. that’s how great he was.

Best Actress

Winner: Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Now, I tried to watch as many Oscar films as I could, but I never got to Still Alice. I’m sure here performance was great, as I have heard from others, but I’ll just have to take your word for it.

Best Actor

Winner: Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Eddie Redmayne was incredible as Steven Hawking! From the beginning to the end of The Theory of Everything, he was my favorite part. I’m glad he one, although Micheal Keaton (for Birdman) would have been a good choice as well.

Best Director

Winner: Alejandro Iñárritu (Birdman)

Honestly, I did not like Birdman. Iñárritu, however, did do a good job with directing. I would have much preferred any of the other choices for Best Director, though. My pick was Richard Linklater for what he did with Boyhood.

Best Picture

Winner: Birdman

As I said before, I did not like Birdman, and I think any of the other films would have been a better choice for Best Picture. My favorite of the nominations, however, was Whiplash. It was a great film and I wish it had won more awards. I never thought Whiplash would win, but I was rooting for Boyhood, which would be my next choice. I’m just disappointed in you Academy. The Lego Movie and now this.

So, these are my thoughts on the large Oscar categories. What do you think? Who should have won each category? Leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

